Skip to content

All the (Yacht Racing) News That Didn’t Fit

Even as the 2023 yacht racing season winds down, the pages allotted to Racing Sheet in the December issue of Latitude 38 were so action-packed that we ran out of space for the Race Notes section that appears in most editions. Fortunately, we have the opportunity to include them here.

The Wosser Trophies

Latitude’s publisher, John Arndt, spoke about the Wosser Trophies at the Yacht Racing Association’s awards presentation, hosted by Richmond Yacht Club on November 18. The Jake Wosser Trophy goes to the winner of the largest one-design fleet regatta of the year. John said that 5O5 world champions Mike Martin and Adam Lowry receive that honor. St. Francis YC hosted the 60-boat Worlds on September 21-October 1. An out-of-towner could thus have won the Jake Wosser Trophy, but Mike and Adam are Bay Area sailors. They compete under the burgee of StFYC.

Wosser Trophies
Left to right: Ruth Wosser Trophy, Susie Wosser Trophy, Jake Wosser Trophy
© 2023 Latitude 38 Media LLC / Chris

Nominations remain open for the Ruth Wosser Trophy and the Susie Wosser Trophy. The Ruth Wosser Trophy goes to the owner whose boat has sailed in the most YRA-sanctioned or Coast Guard-approved race days in a year. (Apply here.) The Susie Wosser Trophy goes to the boat owner who takes the most individuals racing during the year (extra credit for youth sailors). (Apply here.) Applications will close on December 15. Learn more in our ‘Lectronic post of November 8.

The Butler Cup

Long Beach YC hosted the World Sailing Grade 4 Butler Cup match-racing regatta on November 4-5. Eight teams participated, most from California, plus one from the Great Lakes. Competing in provided one-design Catalina 37 keelboats, the teams narrowed down to the Finals. Dave Hood, representing LBYC, bested Ryan Seago, sailing for Bayview YC in Michigan. Hood and crew proved unbeatable, with a perfect scoreline of 14 wins and 0 losses. Richard McGarvie, Chris Steele, Chris Main, Steve Natvig, William Tiller and Nick Blackman sailed with Hood. See for more.

Juegos Pan Am

The US Sailing Team really hauled in the metal at the Pan Am Games in Algarrobo, Chile. Nineteen Americans competed on October 28-November 4. Among West Coast sailors medaling, Daniela Moroz of Lafayette in the Bay Area won gold in the foiling kite. Ian Barrows and Hans Henken won gold in the 49er skiff; Henken is from Coronado in the San Diego area. Sarah Newberry-Moore and David Liebenberg (of Richmond) won silver in the Nacra 17, a foiling catamaran. By finishing as the top North Americans, Newberry-Moore and Liebenberg qualified the USA for the 2024 Olympics in the Nacra 17 event. See for complete results.

Nominations Open for Rolex Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year

“US Sailing is seeking nominees who are US citizens who have demonstrated on-the-water excellence at national and international events bringing global recognition to sailing in the United States while representing the United States in a calendar year,” writes Lexi Pline. Nominations will close on December 15.

“Following the close of the nomination period, US Sailing’s nominating committee, approved by the Board of Directors, will select three finalists for both the Yachtsman and Yachtswoman of the Year Award based on the merits of the nominees. The finalists will be posted to a ballot and presented to voting groups of past award winners and sailing media journalists, who will vote for the winners.”

US Sailing will announce the winners in a ceremony in the spring — details to come. For more info and to nominate a sailor, go to

The organization has presented both awards since 1961, with the exception of 2020, ‘cuz you know why.


Leave a Comment