Skip to content

A Second Consecutive Congressional Cup Victory for Chris Poole

Long Beach Yacht Club kicked off this year’s World Match Racing Circuit with the past weekend’s 59th annual Congressional Cup. USA’s Chris Poole, and his Riptide Racing team, returned to win his second consecutive Congressional Cup and crimson blazer. Poole and his team — Joachim Aschenbrenner, Bernardo Freitas, Mal Parker, Luke Payne, and Harry West — defeated five-time Congressional Cup winner Ian Williams 3-1 in a tense final.

Chris Poole & Riptide Racing
Chris Poole and Riptide Racing scored for the second year in a row.
© 2024 World Match Racing Circuit

Showing dominance early, Poole claimed the first point of the event. With so much talent and experience in these boats, Williams and Poole pushed the match-racing rules and boats to their maximum.

Chris Poole and Riptide racing leading runner-up Ian Williams.
Chris Poole and Riptide Racing lead runner-up Ian Williams.
© 2024 Ian Roman/WMRT

Reflecting on the victory, Poole said, “It’s an incredible feeling. It would be impossible without my team. We didn’t start the week the way we wanted to, but once we started sailing like we did last year, we were pretty confident it was going to be ours to win.”

Spectator action off the pier in Long Beach.
Spectator action off the pier in Long Beach.
© 2024 Ian Roman/WMRT

Experience and confidence paid off as the Riptide team held off Williams to stay on top for the win.

Complete results and information here.

Leave a Comment