Skip to content

National Sailing Hall of Fame’s 2020 Inductees

The Class of 2020

The National Sailing Hall of Fame will honor the following inductees in 2020:

  • James E. Buttersworth, the renowned 19th-century maritime painter.
  • Sandy Douglass, designer of the Thistle, Highlander and Flying Scot one-design boats. (You’ll find wooden Thistles still sailing at Richmond Yacht Club and on lakes around the region; you’ll find fiberglass Flying Scots at Inverness YC.)
  • Robbie Haines Jr., Olympic gold medalist and world champion. Robbie Haines is from San Diego.
  • Bill Mattison, national and world champion sailor and iceboater.
  • Dave Perry, leading racer, coach, judge and author.
  • John Rousmaniere, celebrated writer, sailor, historian and authority on seamanship and boating safety.
  • Hoyle and Diane Schweitzer, whose efforts made windsurfing a worldwide pastime. The Schweitzers are from California and Lahaina, Maui.
  • The 2020 Lifetime Achievement Award winner is Briggs Cunningham Jr., champion car racer, yachtsman and benefactor to many sailing endeavors. If you’ve ever tugged on a little line to tighten the luff on your mainsail, thank Cunningham.
Robbie Haines at KKMI
Robbie Haines, seen here last year supervising the commissioning of Roy P. Disney’s Volvo 70 Pyewacket at KKMI.
© 2020

Due to COVID-19, the 2020 class will be celebrated virtually on Saturday, September 12, 2020. The Hall of Fame is planning a traditional induction ceremony for September 2021 to celebrate the classes of 2020 and 2021.

Make a Nomination

Nominations are accepted year-round at The deadline for Class of 2021 nominees is January 31.

Nominees must be American citizens, 55 years of age or older, who have made significant impact on the growth and development of the sport in the US at a national or international level in the following categories:

  • Sailing – Recognizing achievements made on the water as a sailboat racer, cruiser or offshore sailor.
  • Technical – Recognizing those who have significantly contributed to the technical aspects of sailing. Examples include designers, boat builders, sailmakers, etc.
  • Contributor – Recognizing those who have made other significant contributions to the American sailing experience. Examples include teachers, coaches, administrators, media (including authored works, TV, film, etc.), artists, musicians, promoters and organizers.

Nominees for the Lifetime Achievement Award must be American citizens, 55 years of age or older, who have achieved success in sailing and outside of sailing and have given back to the sport in some significant manner. The NSHOF Board of Directors selects Lifetime Achievement Award recipients.

Leave a Comment

Boat-In Dine Outside Dining
The Bay Area is ringed with Boat-In dining locations and many have set up outside, waterfront tables and taken other precautions to help keep you both safe and well-fed.
Hurricane Forecasting Webinars
On July 9 and 10, the National Hurricane Center (NHC) will be hosting their inaugural, live webinars on weather forecasting geared toward blue water mariners. Participation is free and there is space for up to 250 attendees.
The Quiet Life in PV
While this is the quiet season in Puerto Vallarta, it doesn't mean Paul Martson of J/World hasn't been busy. He and his wife, Jennifer took on a pandemic project for their 2014 Wharram Tiki 30, Oleaje.