Skip to content

Home Team Repeats San Diego Lipton Cup Win

It’s official — San Diego Yacht Club is the winner of the 2022 Sir Thomas Lipton Challenge Cup. The home team has done it again.

J/105s racing
Lipton Cup action in sunny San Diego, with SDYC a few feet ahead in this image.
© 2022 Bob Betancourt

Each team rotated among the fleet of 11 equalized J/105s after each race. In alphabetical order, the 11 teams were:

  • American Yacht Club (Rye, NY) – Skipper Dwight Greenhouse
  • California Yacht Club (Marina del Rey) – Skipper Will Peterson
  • Chicago Yacht Club – Skipper Will Holz
  • Coronado Yacht Club (San Diego) – Skipper Scott Harris
  • Del Rey Yacht Club – Skipper Chris Weis
  • Long Beach Yacht Club – Skipper Keith Ives
  • Newport Harbor Yacht Club – Skipper Justin Law
  • New York Yacht Club – Skipper Peter Levesque
  • San Diego Yacht Club – Skipper Tyler Sinks
  • San Francisco Yacht Club (Belvedere) – Skipper Shawn Bennett
  • Storm Trysail Club (Larchmont, NY) – Skipper Bill Zartler
J/105s racing
Photographer Bob Betancourt took these action shots on Friday, October 28.
© 2022 Bob Betancourt

It all came down to the battle of the coasts on Sunday, October 30, the last of day of the three-day regatta. After 10 highly competitive and close races, SDYC and New York YC got off the starting line one more time, determined to prove which coast is best.

The final results for the 2022 Lipton Cup have SDYC (skipper Tyler Sinks) in first place with 38 points, Coronado YC (skipper Scott Harris) in second place with 43 points, and NYYC (skipper Peter Levesque) in third place with 45 points.

“It’s just staying in the fight and continuing to battle. When it wasn’t looking good, we stayed in it and never lost faith. It worked out for us,” commented Tyler Sinks upon their champagne arrival back at the club.

Long Beach YC on Lucky Duck
Long Beach YC takes a turn on Lucky Duck.
© 2022 Bob Betancourt

SDYC’s Tyler Sinks is no stranger to the Lipton Cup championship title. In fact, the skipper has won five of the last seven regattas (2022, 2021, 2018, 2017 and 2015; there was no Lipton Cup in 2020). Sinks’ team of Erik Shampain, Nevin Snow, Max Hutcheson, Lucy Wallace, Jake La Dow and Nick Kaschak can be found sailing together quite often. Erik Shampain is actually the winningest Lipton Cup sailor of all time.

J/105 start
SDYC was sailing Sun Puffin in this race on Friday.
© 2022 Bob Betancourt

Shampain commented, “I’ve been told that Dave Ullman and Dennis Conner have six wins, and this is my seventh. I was really honored when Dave called me a few days ago and said, ‘If anybody breaks it, I’m glad it’s you.’ That was really nice.

“We were trying to get off the start line, get clean races, sail by ourselves, and keep an eye on the competition. We had a nice last start right above New York, and we controlled our destiny,” he continued.

J/105s racing
There are other Lipton Cup regattas, including in the Bay Area in June, but SDYC’s version attracts teams from as far away as New York.
© 2022 Bob Betancourt

Commodore Jeff Tadder congratulated SDYC on another job well done. “It’s a great honor to keep the trophy at home. Thank you to all the yacht clubs that came out to compete in SDYC’s signature event, and to all of the volunteers who made this an amazing weekend on and off the water.”

Lipton Cup trophy with winners
Sir Thomas Lipton was serious about his cups. Commodore Jeff, love the blue blazer with flip-flops look.
© 2022 Mark Albertazzi

For complete results, see

Leave a Comment

Sailors' Stories
Jeanne is the oldest person to sail solo nonstop unassisted around the world via the Southern Ocean’s Five Great Capes, and is also the first woman to sail solo nonstop unassisted around the world from North America.
Sailing In Pictures
We love the sailing community! You guys are awesome and we appreciate the photos you send us each month. Check out October's Sailagram photos.